One to Watch

the new science of quantum biology… image

Other News

Nathan Filer wins SNBA Popular Novel of the Year

Conville & Walsh literary agency are delighted to announce that Nathan Filer has won the Best Popular Novel category in the Specsavers National…

Simon Wroe Shortlisted for Costa First Novel

Conville & Walsh literary agency are delighted to announce that Simon Wroe has been shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award, for his…

Piers Torday Wins Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize

Conville & Walsh literary agency are delighted to announce that Piers Torday has won the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, for his book

Shock of the Fall shortlisted for National Book Awards

Conville & Walsh literary agency are delighted to announce that Nathan Filer has been shortlisted for the the Best Popular Book category in…

The Word of Mouth Prize

Conville & Walsh literary agency are delighted to announce the launch of the Word of Mouth Prize, a new literary prize aimed at discovering…

News Archives

Books of the Year

We have had an amazing year at Conville & Walsh, with a huge variety of fiction and non-fiction in the media. There have been more Books of the Year roundups than we can count, so we have gathered the best in our handy Books of the Books of the Year roundup.

Books of the Year

The Absent Therapist by Will Eaves: Guardian (Nick Lezard)

image A Buzz in the Meadow by Dave Goulson (pictured): New Statesman (Mark Cocker), Guardian (nature)

City of Lies by Ramita Navai: Evening Standard, Times (travel)

The Devil in the Marshalsea by Antonia Hodgson: Guardian (Ben Miller), Independent (crime)

Different Every Time by Marcus O’Dair: Guardian (music), The Times, Sunday Times (Will Hodgkinson), Irish Times, Independent, Evening Standard

The Disappearance Boy by Neil Bartlett: Guardian (Kate Pullinger)

Echo Boy by Matt Haig: Telegraph

Joan of Arc by Helen Castor: Telegraph (history), Telegraph (biography), Guardian (biography), Evening Standard, Times (biography)

Life on the Edge by Jim al Khalili and Johnjoe McFadden: Independent (science), Financial Times, Economist

Marry Me by Dan Rhodes: Washington Post

The Moor by Will Atkins : Guardian (Stuart Evers)

Mr Mac and Me by Esther Freud: Evening Standard

Nathan Filer: Telegraph, Independent (debuts), Independent (Christmas)

A Sting in the Tale by Dave Goulson: Guardian (Nick Lezard), Brain Pickings

Tigerman by Nick Harkaway: Kirkus, NPR, Washington Post

The Visitors by Simon Sylvester: Independent (debuts)

And in case you missed it, we had a number of prizes and nominations, too...


Pedro G. Ferreira’s The Perfect Theory nominated for the Royal Society Winton Prize

imageNathan Filer wins Costa Book of the Year, Costa First Book Award, is longlisted for The Desmond Eliot Prize, is nominated for the Society of Authors Award, and is announced winner of the SNBA Novel of the Year for The Shock of the Fall

Matt Haig nominated for Carnegie Medal for Echo Boy

Sarah Hall wins E.M. Forster Award

Thomas Harding nominated for JQ-Wingate Prize

Antonia Hodgson’s The Devil in the Marshalsea wins Endeavour Historical Dagger in Crimewriters’ Association Awards

Rob Lloyd Jones’s Wild Boy shortlisted for Branford Boase Award

John Niven’s Straight White Male shortlisted for the Wodehouse Prize

Lisa O’Donnell’s The Death of Bees named in Alex Awards

Simon Sylvester’s The Visitors wins Not the Booker

Piers Torday shortlisted for Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize, and wins The Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize for The Dark Wild

Simon Wroe shortlisted for Costa First Novel Award for Chop Chop

Honourable Mentions

Stephen Kelman’s Pigeon English was named on the syllabus for the new AQA GCSE in English Literature.

In collaboration with Curtis Brown Creative and our wonderful reader, David Llewelyn, we launched the Eluned Phillips Centenary Bursary to enable an author born or living in Wales to take part in a three month novel writing course. The winner was Rhian Jones, born and brought up in Blaenau, Gwent.

David Shrigley undertook a major collaboration with Uniqlo and MoMA for a t-shirt collection based on artwork from his new book, Weak Messages Create Bad Situations

17 Dec 2014