Things We Have in Common image

Things We Have in Common

  1. Author: Tasha Kavanagh
  2. Category: Fiction Debut
  3. Publisher: Canongate
  4. Length: May 2015

About Things We Have in Common

Yasmin would give anything to have a friend… And do anything to keep them.

The first time I saw you, you were standing at the far end of the playing field. You were looking down at your brown straggly dog, your mouth going slack as your eyes clocked her. Alice Taylor.

I was no different. I’d catch myself gazing at the back of her head in class, at her thick fair hair swaying between her shoulder blades.

If you’d glanced just once across the field, you’d have seen me standing in the middle on my own looking straight at you, and you’d have gone back through the trees to the path quick, tugging your dog after you. You’d have known you’d given yourself away, even if only to me.

But you didn’t. You only had eyes for Alice.

This is a dark and utterly compulsive novel that will appeal to readers of NOTES ON A SCANDAL and THE LOVELY BONES.

About the Author

Tasha Kavanagh worked in film editing for 10 years, on features including ‘Twelve Monkeys’, ‘Seven Years in Tibet’ and ‘The Talented Mr Ripley’. She has an MA in Creative Writing from UEA. She is 45, lives in Hertfordshire with her family and THINGS WE HAVE IN COMMON is her first novel. 

Back to Titles Listing

Status

Edited manuscript

Rights

All rights available excluding: UK & Commonwealth Sweden (Sekwa)

Agent

Susan Armstrong