The Light Between Oceans image

The Light Between Oceans

  1. Author: M L Stedman
  2. Category: Fiction Debut Literary
  3. Publisher: Transworld (UK), Scribner (US)
  4. Pub date: 26 April 2012
  5. Length: 400 pages

About The Light Between Oceans

an extraordinary and heart-rending book about good people, tragic decisions, and the beauty found in each of them
- Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief

New York Times and International Bestseller

Winner of the HWA/Goldsboro Crown for Debut Historical Fiction
Winner of Indie Best Debut Novel and Book of the Year in Australia
Winner of the Australian Book Industry Award for Best Newcomer, Best Literary Novel and Book of the Year
Winner of the Nielsen BookData 2013 Booksellers’ Choice Award
Longlisted for Miles Franklin Award
Nominated for the International Impac Dublin Literary Award 2014
Best Historical Fiction, GoodReads Choice Awards 2012
Longlisted for the Australian Literature Society Gold Medal
Longlisted for the Women’s Prize 2013
Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

This is a story of right and wrong, and how sometimes they look the same.

1926. Tom Sherbourne is a young lighthouse keeper on a remote island off Western Australia. The only inhabitants of Janus Rock, he and his wife Isabel live a quiet life, cocooned from the rest of the world.  One April morning a boat washes ashore carrying a dead man and a crying infant – and the path of the couple’s lives hits an unthinkable crossroads.  Only years later do they discover the devastating consequences of the decision they make that day - as the baby’s real story unfolds …

M L Stedman’s debut is a mesmerising novel of love and loss and unbearable choices.

About the Author

M. L. Stedman was born and raised in Western Australia, and now lives in London. THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS is her first novel and is an international and New York Times bestseller.

Back to Titles Listing




All rights available excluding:
UK & Commonwealth (Transworld)
USA (Scribner/S&S)
Albania (Uegen)
Australia (Random House Australia)
Brazil (Rocco)
Bulgaria (Obsidian)
China (Hachette Phoenix)
Croatia (Leo-Commerce)
Czech Republic (Albatros Media)
Denmark (Forlaget Turbulenz)
Estonia (Pegasus)
Finland (Karisto)
France (Editions Stock)
Germany (Blanvalet)
Greece (Patakis)
Hungary (General Press)
Iceland (Forlagid)
Israel (Keter)
Italy (Garzanti Libri)
Japan (Hayakawa)
Korea (Munhakdongne)
Latvia (Zvaigzne)
Lebanon (Arab Scientific)
Lithuania (Alma Littera)
Macedonia (Tri Publishing)
Netherlands (De Boekerij)
Norway (Schibsted Forlag)
Poland (Albatros)
Portugal (Presenca)
Romania (Polirom)
Russia (AST)
Serbia (Laguna)
Slovakia (Ikar)
Slovenia (Ucila)
Spain (Salamandra)
Spain/Catalan (Edicions 62/Grup62)
Sweden (Massolit)
Taiwan (Crown)
Thailand (Amarin)
Turkey (Pegasus)
Ukraine (Hemiro/Family Leisure Club)
Vietnam (Tre)


Susan Armstrong