One to Watch

Himself image

Other News

The Light Between Oceans film adaptation launches at Venice

Conville & Walsh Literary Agency are thrilled to announce that the film adaptation of ML Stedman’s bestselling debut novel The Light Between Oceans launched…

Curious Arts Festival 2016

Once again the gloriously eclectic Curious Arts Festival takes place in the beautiful grounds of Pylewell Park in the heart of the New Forest…

PJ Lynch appointed Ireland’s children’s laureate

Conville & Walsh are thrilled to announce that PJ Lynch has been named as Ireland’s new children’s laureate.

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage nominated for two Eisner Awards

Conville & Walsh are delighted to announce that The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua has been nominated for…

Crime Debut Ragdoll sells to Trapeze in major pre-empt

Conville & Walsh are delighted to announce that Sam Eades, Senior Commissioning Editor at Trapeze, has pre-empted a major debut crime series for a six…

News Archives

THREE LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2016

Conville & Walsh are delighted to report that three of our authors have been longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize, the “most prestigious award for first-time novelists” (Telegraph).

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

image

It’s Monday, the blistering summer of 1976 continues, and Mrs Creasy from Number 8 has gone missing. The neighbours seem keen to blame her disappearance on the heat, but 10-year-old Grace and her best friend Tilly aren’t convinced. Inspired by the local vicar, the girls decide to investigate, believing that if they can find God – who keeps everyone safe – they might also find Mrs Creasy and bring her home.

At once coming-of-age novel and whodunnit story, THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP radiates an unmistakable charm and warmth, and calls to mind great storytellers such as Maria Semple, Sarah Winman and Emma Healey

A Sunday Times Bestseller, and now sold in 14 territories and optioned for TV, THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP has been described as “a novel to be savoured” (Guardian), “a superior debut that will generate a devoted book group following” (The Sunday Times), “Whimsical and memorable… An utter joy to read” (Independent Ireland) and “Fresh and vivid, this intriguing debut is a perceptive coming-of-age tale” (Sunday Express). Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, labelled the book “a quirky, moving and beautifully written tale of suburban life in 1970s Britain… a delight from start to finish”.

Things We Have in Common by Tasha Kavanagh

image

The first time I saw you, you were standing at the far end of the playing field. You were looking down at your brown straggly dog, your mouth going slack as your eyes clocked her. Alice Taylor.
I was no different. I’d catch myself gazing at the back of her head in class, at her thick fair hair swaying between her shoulder blades.

If you’d glanced just once across the field, you’d have seen me standing in the middle on my own looking straight at you, and you’d have gone back through the trees to the path quick, tugging your dog after you. You’d have known you’d given yourself away, even if only to me.

But you didn’t. You only had eyes for Alice.

Contemporary, dark and utterly compulsive, THINGS WE HAVE IN COMMON is a literary page-turner that will appeal to fans of NOTES ON A SCANDAL, THE LOVELY BONES and ROOM. It explores our inherent need for friendship and just how far someone might go to secure it, and has been described as “unsettling, deeply moving and very, very readable. I loved it” by Nathan Filer, author of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL, and “beautifully endearing, a stunning book” by Kevin Brooks, author of THE BUNKER DIARY. Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award, THINGS WE HAVE IN COMMON has now also been optioned for stage.

The Honours by Tim Clare
image

It’s 1935 and war is looming. Alderberen Hall is a sprawling country estate shadowed by suspicion and paranoia. Thirteen-year-old Delphine Venner is determined to uncover the secrets of the elite society that has taken in her mother and unstable father. As she explores the house, and discovers the dark network of hidden tunnels and secret passages that thread the hall and its grounds, she must use all her stubborn resourcefulness to uncover more about the unknown dangers that lurk there.

With the help of head gamekeeper Henry Garforth, a sawn-off shotgun and a satchel full of homemade grenades, Delphine throws herself into a terrifying and deadly mission. She must learn the bloody lessons of war from old soldiers in time to battle the deadly forces that emerge from the black water.

Delphine thinks she can tell man from monster but she will discover that, in war, one can become the other in an instant.

THE HONOURS is a dark, glittering and dangerously unputdownable novel which invites you to enter a thrilling and fantastical world unlike any other. Sarah Perry, author of AFTER ME COMES THE FLOOD, had this to say in the Guardian: “The poet proves himself a superb storyteller in a gorgeously entertaining fantasy novel set in Norfolk between the wars”

01 Apr 2016